Technology Cares

Not Just another weblog

Love Play!ing

Posted by Manish on March 2, 2012

I have always loved programming in Java. But I’ve always felt I was never been able to maximize my productivity while programming in it because of the time I loose every time I compile the changes I made in the code and deploy it.

Looks like I have the perfect solution now… PLAY!
Play! Framework follows the model-view-controller architectural pattern. It allows Hot deployment. It follows Stateless architecture, promoted by many Web application frameworks from PHP to Ruby on Rails or Django. Built in testing framework provided by Play! is awesome.

From Wikipedia – “Play is heavily inspired by Ruby on Rails and Django. A developer familiar with any of these frameworks will feel at home. Play leverages the power of Java to build web applications in an environment that is not Java Enterprise Edition-centric. By lifting away the Java EE constraints, Play provides developers with an easy-to-develop and elegant stack aimed at productivity”

Of course there are a lot to look into. For more press Play!
I tried the Play! framework in my Mac to develop a Hello World page. I must say it is neat and very easy.
Heroku natively supports Play, which is another thing I am planning to have a look into.

Leave a comment